The Route

Update: The interactive version of this map is pretty much finished, and is posted here: http://everett.x10.mx/maps/ Alternatively you can click “The Route” in the menu to the top right.

I originally intended to make a post that featured a proper interactive Google map embedded in it, but that’s not as easy as I hoped. So in lieu of that I have this static image I made using Google maps, then edited to add some big black dots for the cities I stayed in. It’s not as glamorous, and not all of the cities are labelled at the scale I zoomed out to, but it’s still better than nothing, and I don’t feel like putting off this post for too long. Maybe one day I’ll figure out how to embed a Google map in a WordPress.com blog with the route all traced out and the cities properly marked with links to the posts about them, but that may take a fair amount of time.

Screenshot from 2013-08-22 10:02:31

For now I have the image, and the info that my route was approximately 12,500 kilometers in length not including the travel to and from Europe. It started in London and ended in Paris. Due to a decision to go back and visit some family in Haarlem a second time before my trip ended, I passed through the area between Lille and Amsterdam twice. I was heading northwards the first time and south the second. I also passed through Paris on the way from Rennes to Luxembourg, though I didn’t properly see the city until the last few days of my trip. I covered a lot of ground in the 98 days I was away from home, but that’s just the nature of the trip I embarked upon. There are certainly some cities I would have really enjoyed to spend more time in and to become better acquainted with, and perhaps someday I will go back for that very purpose. For now I can just look back on the great trip I’ve had with no regrets.

This entry was published on August 31, 2013 at 11:05 pm. It’s filed under Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “The Route

  1. Wow, looks like you covered plenty of amazing places. Very jealous :)

  2. This is amazing, what a route!! Check out our dream route here:http://lovefromcornwall.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/pins-on-the-map/

    Char x

  3. livedivergent on said:

    Planning is such a plan in the ass. I’m currently in the midst of planning my upcoming Europe Trip in December. Thanks for some references! I was wondering how did you create this interactive map using google?

Leave a comment