Sleepy in Stuttgart

I’m not sure why, maybe it was the grey weather, but I found myself perpetually sleepy while in Stuttgart. Or perhaps it’s because I’m not even sure why I decided to go to Stuttgart, except that my originally planned next stop of Freiburg was all booked up for the weekend. I looked at a half dozen other train accessible cities in or bordering the Black Forest, and had no luck either. So, needing some place else to go for two nights, I flipped a coin between Stuttgart and Frankfurt, and everyone can tell which city won. So now in Stuttgart, I set about looking around and getting a feel for the city. It’s new and modern like most German cities, not surprisingly because it was mostly destroyed by allied bombs in World War II. I’m sensing a recurring theme here in Germany’s larger cities. A walk down König Straße also involved walking past a lot more mid to high end clothing stores than I recall seeing in any other Germany city so far. There are a lot of nice parks, though I really only saw the various sections of the Schloßgarten between the city centre and the Neckar river. I eventually ended up at the Mercedes-Benz museum, even though I have no particular interest in cars. I guess at €4, I figured it couldn’t be too disappointing. I was worried that it would be a big Mercedes-Benz car show, but it actually did a really good job of placing the company into a historical context. I was genuinely impressed. Even though I felt like napping the entire time I spent in Stuttgart, I didn’t mind it. I preferred the other cities I’ve already visited in Germany, but that doesn’t mean Stuttgart isn’t a fine place in it’s own right.

This entry was published on August 10, 2013 at 9:28 am. It’s filed under Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Sleepy in Stuttgart

  1. OnEurope.info
    OnEurope.info is a news and video destination for the latest info relating to Europe.
    Whether you are looking for pop headlines, celeb stories or knowledge about European events, festivals, arts, music gigs etc you will find it on OnEurope.com.
    OnEurope.info provides frequently updated videos, featured articles and links to the essential sites for pop, celebs, trending insights, local news, meaning you have all the information you could possibly want at the tips of your fingers.
    Offering regular updates, the site has built a loyal and growing group of followers. All featured content on the site is managed by a dedicated team of editors who strive to publish high quality content from a fresh and informative perspective.
    OnEurope.info provides a gateway into local news. Both video and editorial content featuring an array of articles from current state of arts, sports, music, culture to coverage of recent developments in Europe, serve to keep readers interested, informed and eager to return to the site.
    We produce our own content covering UK and European news, including music festivals, band tours, filmmakers, local events, celeb updates and the most popular cultural events.

Leave a comment